Simple CMUcam4 Program

Added by Kwabena Agyeman almost 8 years ago

BRYANTAYJH.09 said:

Hi, this is my first experience on the arduino and cmucam4 and i am still learning the basics of programming.
I am trying to program the cmucam4 to track a black object 1-3metres away from the camera and also be able to locate whether the object is at the left, right or center of the camera. There would be 3 LEDs attached to the arduino digital outputs and if the camera detects a black object on the left, the left LED would light up. The same thing goes for the center and right LEDs. I referred to the examples but have still no idea on making the values to detect black and also allowing it to locate the object and light up the leds on the arduino. Could you provide a basic program that would basically do the above for reference? Your help is greatly appreciated.

I said:

Here's a simple program that does what you asked. I haven't tested it myself yet, but I think it should work. I just built it off of the color tracking template code.

/***************************************************************************//**
* @file
* Example Code
* @version @n 1.0
* @date @n 9/19/2012
* @authors @n Kwabena W. Agyeman
* @copyright @n (c) 2012 Kwabena W. Agyeman
* @n All rights reserved - Please see the end of the file for the terms of use
* @par Update History:
* @n v1.0 - Initial Release - 9/19/2012
*******************************************************************************/

#include <CMUcam4.h>
#include <CMUcom4.h>

#define YUV_MODE false // Change this to true to switch to YUV mode.

// More about the YUV color space http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/YUV

// Also read http://cmucam.org/projects/cmucam4/wiki/Tips_and_Tricks

// Feed the color to track into these six variables.

#define RED_MIN 230
#define RED_MAX 255
#define GREEN_MIN 230
#define GREEN_MAX 255
#define BLUE_MIN 230
#define BLUE_MAX 255

// The above tracking values currently track bright lights.